Me Made

Posted on November 7, 2015

0


0I8A2491Weekends mean bringing a great deal of work home with me since I took a job teaching 5th grade science and math this Fall. It’s the most intense, long-houred job I’ve ever held. Not unlike social service work, the good days are great and the bad days are pretty soul-crushing. This weekend, though, in addition to grading almost 90 notebooks from students on whatever mish mash of math and science they actually learned, I’m working on a sweater for myself and mixing up some fresh ground spice mixes.

The Vitamix makes quick work of garam masala, with cardamom pods, cinnamon sticks, bay leaves, ginger, and more, but I realized that I should have put the bay leaves in before everything else as they’re almost too light to make their way to the bottom of the dry goods carafe.

0I8A2493 I love the way our house smells after mixing up spice batches. Smokey spicy goodness.

0I8A2501

My sweater is coming along nicely. Never as quickly as I’d like, but I suppose thousands of stitches takes time. I’m making the Barn Sweater by Carrie Bostick Hoge. I adore her simple patterns, have bought both her Madder books, and plan to work my way through them and my yarn stash slowly. 0I8A2497I’m hopeful that I’ll have this done in time to take it with me to Colorado. It will be the first time I’ve traveled for the holidays since my first year of college. Not sure how I feel about going from our currently 80 degree weather to snow and ice, but I’m looking forward to something different. Sweater weather…0I8A2500

Posted in: food