cinnamon & chipotle pear sorbet

Posted on February 18, 2014

0


P2174179-2

A recipe. A delectable, sweet-with-just-enough-kick sorbet to both say goodbye to winter and welcome the equally smack-you-in-the-face all of a sudden arrival of florida’s non-existent “spring” where it will go abruptly from the 60’s to the 80’s.

I stole my recipe…ish.
It was intended to be a jam. I even intended for it to be a jam, as it was written up to be in Laena McCarthy’s Jam On, but we stopped doing markets, I didn’t have enough time to make the jam in addition to running the many many beautiful pears through the process of cooking them down to a pulp and putting them through the trusty Squeezo.
And then it never was jam, the several gallons of frozen pear pulp sat in the trunk freezer, being almost mistaken for frozen rabbit broth at one point, and then the awesome gift of a cuisinart ice cream maker happened for Christmas and here we are with the warm weather upon us and the icy treats within us!

I think a normal serving of the recipe might serve for the ice cream maker amount, but since I intended to make many many jars of jam I something like quadrupled the recipe and have several bags of pulp in the freezer.

P2174184-2

The pears – forgive me for not remembering what crazy good variety of organic pear I got for this – are paired with chipotle and cinnamon. Since the chipotle didn’t really add heat but had awesome flavor, I added not even a pinch of ghost chile powder – love that stuff. It did such good things for The New Bellamy.

P2174187-2

Chiles and fruits are one of my absolute favorite combinations. Since I came into truly appreciating spicy foods, if something can be hot, I tend to appreciate it a bit better that way. The Revolution Ice Cream in Brandon, FL has a crazy good chocolate habanero ice cream, but it’s just enough on the spicy side that it makes it hard to eat a whole serving of the stuff. Add and then taste, if it’s not enough add more, just like with salt.

P2174194-2

cinnamon & chipotle pear sorbet

2 lbs. pears (about 5 cups – I could only fit 4 in the ice cream maker at a time) in enough water to cover them
2 c. water
1 1/2 c. sugar
a pinch of salt
2 tsp. chipotle powder
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
less than a pinch ghost chile powder (optional)

Cook down pears in water until they are soft and look about to, or have in fact, popped. Strain water from pears and run pears through a food sieve or squeezo to separate the seeds and skin from the flesh. At this point I let the pear pulp cool and froze it in gallon bags. If you wish to prep and complete the recipe at another time or make batches of pulp and only turn some into sorbet, now would be the time to prep whatever portion for the freezer.

Combine water and sugar and put on medium high heat until sugar is dissolved. When sugar is dissolved, add pear pulp, salt, chipotle, cinnamon, and ghost chile powder if desired. Use immersion blender to combine all ingredients until smooth.

Refrigerate for a minimum of 2 hours. Recommended overnight cooling. The next day place ingredients into ice cream machine and run for recommended time – our machine is 20 minutes.

I’ve read some instructions for sorbets that are made in food processors and then placed in the freezer. I can’t attest to how well that would work here, but I think the idea would be to take the cooled pulp, pulse it in a food processor to help mix it and make it smooth, and then put the sorbet in the freezer to help firm it up. If you try this and it works well, please let me know. This stuff is amazing. I think the texture may be a bit off (a tad grainy), but that could be attributed to the pears since they’re naturally a little sandy in texture, I’ve always thought.

Enjoy!

Posted in: food