Jerk Chicken & Banana Boats

Posted on October 28, 2013

0


Saturday night was a Halloween party at Dill’s brother’s house, with some of the most awesome smoked jerk chicken I’ve ever had the pleasure of ingesting. Nate and I are cheap and a little lazy so we went as kissing salt and pepper shakers. Our last minute costumes consisted of circular labels stuck to our heads for the holes of our shaker. I told Nate we should carry around salt and pepper so when people ask what we are we can shake around and toss some on them, but he vetoed that idea since we didn’t know the person whose house we were going to with the party beforehand.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe gracious host and his trusty sidekick (or whatever Jake is in that show)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This party was also home to the most awesomely decorated party cookies we’d ever seen. Decorated by hand by the co-hostess of the party who also happens to be a cake decorator by trade.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunday night was a fireside supper with our friends Tanja and Jared Vidovic – an awesome couple that does a great job of pretty much living entirely off their 1/2 acre property in the Temple Terrace area. I don’t have any pictures of the evening, but it was a good time and it’s always nice to connect with people who have tiny people – since I won’t be getting my fix of small people goodness quite as often as I did working at Everyday Blessings, I have to get it while I can.

We ate awesome vegetarian soup, roasted corn and banana boats on the fire (banana slit open, filled with chocolate chips and coconut, and warmed to the point of sizzling), and made s’mores. The weather has been perfect for fires and it’s always good to get out with friends – something we don’t do nearly enough, but seem to be doing a lot more of lately post adoption failure.

In garden news:

I’m looking at ordering Oca (Oxalis tuberosa) and some other new varieties of edibles from Peace Seeds/Peace Seedlings to see how they do here in Central Florida. They’re native to the Andes, so the climate is quite a bit different, but I’m open to trying almost anything at least once.

The different varieties are said to taste differently (as with potatoes, I’d assume that it would be relatively subtle), so I’m looking to decide which ones I want to get – though I may just get a bulk mixed order so I can try them all.

Posted in: food, garden, personal