The evolution of hobbies and commitment to good

Posted on July 28, 2013

2


Anyone else bad at updating anyone about their life when they’re actually busy living it up?

I never fall behind on things.

Ha!

Our ducklings are [mostly] all grown up now. Well, the ones that managed not to get carried of [we think] by a hawk. There were 2 days in a week where they were all there in the morning, and then there were just fewer later in the day. One of those days I came outside and saw a hawk flying off with something in its mouth – it dropped it and I looked around to see if it was a duckling and maybe survived, but we never found anything in the yard. We’re down to a silver or splash runner and what we believe is a chocolate and a black runner. At this point I’m hopeful they’re all girls because we lost enough to thin the numbers substantially from too many ducks to a lot of ducks. However, since we opened up a pretty decent section of yard for the ducks to have as their playground, I don’t feel bad about the numbers. They like to sleep out (ironic that night is usually the time for fowl to be got by some predator and none of ours have ever disappeared during the wee hours) and enjoy hiding under the pomegranate tree and massive African blue basil bush.

I need to get some updated pictures of the quackers, but seeing as they are like most ducks who didn’t imprint on a human and they are terrified of people, it’s hard to get their faces instead of a tail feather shot.

015

 

I finally took my lazy but abundant calendula harvest and put it under oil. I know many people say it’s best to use the fresh flowers when making oil, but as with many things on the urban farm, we just don’t know when we’ll get around to it, so I went ahead and dried them out in case it was a while before they were being put to use. I’m hoping to try my hand at making a salve for my coworkers husband for a skin rash with coconut oil, beeswax, and the calendula oil (they’re in extra virgin olive oil).

It’s about that time of year again. The weeds are growing like weeds, we need to gather boxes to smother was isn’t mowable with our newly acquired lawn mower (only cost us a jar of our honey traded with a neighbor!!). We were pretty behind with much of the summer garden, but I managed to get a seminole pumpkin to finally take root and spread itself around in the side yard. No pumpkins yet that I’ve seen, but I’m hopeful since it’s about 20 feet of vine so far. The velvet beans John Starnes gave us are insanely prolific and have created a great shade for the porch as well as our purple ube, but so far no fruit on any of those either.

Hubs and I are working on something big in our life. As of a few days from now we’ll be back to living as just a married couple in a house with no roommates, which is exciting and somewhat nerve wracking as it requires planning and keeping within budgets and such. I’m working on a great possession purge which is mostly things that have never been used and we don’t know where they came from anyway, but it’s always nice to clean out the unused things to make room for a neater and better utilized living space.

I’ve taken up knitting. Completed a cowl for me, a hat for a friend, planning a hoodie for the hubs, and am working on a Christmas present for my dad. Would post a picture since it’s something fabulous looking, but don’t want to spoil the surprise. It is something of the antithesis of the rest of my hobbies – it requires sitting still, repeating a motion, and focusing (one thing I have in no way mastered is how to fix mistakes) – but it’s been good for me. Like my good friend Tricia, who gave me the 5 minute knitting lesson that made all the difference in my ability to make stitches instead of knots, I’ve found it helps me relax and gives me time to process all the other things going on in my life, on the farm, and in general.

Nate has stepped up his game in the kitchen (as always) and has made rabbit confit which was absolutely fabulous, and he’s working on a fish soup (fresh caught grouper!) for tonight’s dinner with a friend. Confit refers to meat that has been cooked in its own fat, so I suppose we cheated since we used tallow for the rabbit confit, but it was scrumptious. We wished Jill and Marty were around to share it with! Guess we’ll have to be prepared to take some rabbit whenever we get around to New York.

What’s been your favorite new summer recipe?

Any favorites for rabbit? That’s a meat we have in abundance here and we could always use new recipes.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in: garden, personal