She saw my eye and said, homesteading is not for the faint of heart.

Posted on October 15, 2012

0


Yesterday, post Fall Plant Festival at USF we were putting our purchases into the ground, and apparently we made a pass too close to the hive for their liking. One angry bee followed me over toward the car port and landed a whopper on my right eyebrow. It didn’t swell but a little at first, but when I woke up in the morning, I couldn’t really open my eye.

A lovely lady at the other plant/garden event we went to this afternoon introduced me to the amazing properties of lavender essential oils for swelling and my eye improved substantially, though it was still awkward to hold it halfway open, so I donned a makeshift eye patch that looked a bit cartoonish fashioned from my bandana.

As if my coworkers didn’t think I was crazy enough, coming into work and teaching 4 year olds about the difference between a pet and livestock (“You don’t eat your pets, you only eat your livestock”) and talking about whatever newest animal – or 10,000 in the case of the bees – we have added to our menagerie here at Gnarly Farms, now I’ll go into working looking like I joined UFC.

Nobody can say we aren’t dedicated. Or living up to our name. Someone pointed out just how gnarly we actually looked, what with Hubs’ missing finger and my eye swollen shut. Maybe most people just don’t broadcast their failures quite so obviously as we do, but these things are also how we learn. Say, I’ve learned a lot about how to reduce swelling from bee stings and how to take the sting out. It didn’t sting on my face for more than 5 minutes, but stopping the swelling is another thing, since that’s just how my body seems to react to bee stings.

Today someone told us about a mushroom growing workshop happening in a few weeks…

Dare I consider the possibility…

Posted in: Uncategorized