Tampa Free Skool Garden

Posted on August 17, 2012

0


On Saturday September 1, 2012, we are going to hold the first workday and class for the Free Skool garden housed in our side yard. The goal is to have a space that is reminiscent of a community garden, but without the cost associated with the plot space. This will be something of a you sow, you reap adventure with people pooling kitchen scraps for compost, garden tools for a communal collection for use, labor skills for the starting and continuing of growth, and space that other people may not have available or the ability to utilize (some landlords care more about having sod).

Planning on using some of the starts from my new speedling trays to put into the free skool garden. A few people have expressed interest in basic gardening classes, which seem to make tons of sense to go with this project so people without a great deal of experience in the dirt can also be involved, though I feel wholly unqualified to teach such things since I really just throw dirt and seeds around and hope something happens. Every book I read about gardening or botany just makes me more aware of how much I don’t know, and I mean, really I’ve only been doing this gardening bit for 2 years now.

Apparently throwing dirt and seeds around haphazardly does a lot.

Posted in: Uncategorized