A 15 Minute Greenhouse

Posted on February 11, 2012

1


Not 2 whole days ago it was in the 80s and I was uncomfortably warm in my bed against the wall on a memory foam mattress (it worked well for me the first time around, sadly not so well this time around). Tonight in Tampa the temperature is supposed to dip down into the low 30’s.

*sigh* I just had the first leaf bud on one of my grape vines…actually it has 3 leaves now, and that happened in a matter of days after it started being so warm. Now I’m terrified the poor vines will collapse in the chill. I piled leaves around them and will insulate with a burlap bag.

In a matter of 15 minutes, Nate, Emily, and I carried in all the containered plants out of the yard and into the newly cleaned living room (it never lasts too long).

Despite the fact that it may not actually freeze solid, we learned during the first frost that anything not in the ground (and thus insulated very nicely by all of earth’s blanket) does infinitely worse than the plants in the ground, regardless of whether they are covered by a floating cover (we use a sheet because we’re cheap) or a bucket (these actually proved more effective than the sheets first time around since we didn’t know to stake the sheets so that they don’t touch any of the plant).

Posted in: Uncategorized