Day 6: “broken” jeans

Posted on February 17, 2011

0


I woke up on time today. *high five*

The cutest 3 year old that you’ll ever see, dear little Jenna, asked why I was wearing my “bwoken” jeans today. I told her that I was because I don’t have to work today and I’m allowed to wear broken jeans on those days.

I’m on my way to Lake House, will return with many pictures, and will not have any homework that has to be done when I come home. This is a first for the whole trimester, I think.

I left the kids at ACTS with one final quote of inspiration on the board, as I saw it on an old friend’s fb page. I altered it slightly, but loved the sentiment behind it.

“Everyone is brilliant. If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing it is stupid.”

One thing I can appreciate greatly about the hard things I have learned in my own life and the things I would like to be able to teach the people I work with and interact with on a regular basis is that if you’re terrible at something, it doesn’t mean you’re terrible, you just have to try something else until it works. There’s good in us all, somewhere, but finding the good that we’re excellent at executing and spreading around can be an emotional walk through the desert a lot of the time. I feel that way sometimes when people ask what I’m going to do in the next few years. Now that I’m married I get questions about if/when I plan on having children, how many, am I still wanting to/going to go to grad school, etc. I’m lucky if I can anticipate what I’ll have for my next meal (unless hubby is cooking), let alone know where I’m going to live and whether I’m going to create new beings to live with me in a few years.

Note to the world: I am terrible at answering phone calls, returning phone calls, and writing thank you cards on time. I don’t have a job right now, so I plan to at least make an adequate attempt to remedy those flaws in myself.

Posted in: Uncategorized