Sheer Humiliation

Posted on February 11, 2011

0


Since I lack the self-control to make myself wake up at a decent hour just because I should and because I have things to do, I’m going to attempt a new approach. Accountability combined with sheer humiliation. Starting tomorrow, I’m going to wake up at 8 am. If I don’t, I have to let everyone know. If I do, I’m going to let everyone know, too, because otherwise I may be tempted to keep silent and let people assume I succeeded at something rather difficult for me.

I think I’m also going to go ahead and just make a t-shirt to proclaim my blatant failures to the world that says on the front “I failed” and on the back “I didn’t wake up on time today.” Because like I have previously said about running versus walking and why I am more successful at biking, my own will is not enough to push myself past my comfortable point, but sheer humiliation as an immediate consequence tends to work okay. So, tomorrow morning is Day 1 of Project Punctuality. Because the humiliation of having to name a lame project after my own failure of self only adds to the consequence of life-suck.

I’ve spent the last year and a half catching up on a period of my life where I forgot what sleep was, and I think I’m done and it’s time to get some things straightened out. Not in a day, but starting tomorrow.

And since I can’t figure out how to post this, I’m just going to link it, and hope that works. This video by Nigel Marsh helped me get a little fire under my rear to get going. Hope you enjoy it, and push, shove, kick me along as necessary to make it.

Posted in: Uncategorized