a camera lens & careful days

Posted on March 22, 2010

0


A man is but the product of his thoughts; what he thinks, he becomes. – Mahatma Ghandi

i ended the winter term with an A, A-, and 2 B’s. considering the complete lack of legitimate studying for a few of those classes, that’s pretty amazing. now i’m headed into my 3rd trimester as a west-coast uni student.

i like that i’m still wishing happy birthday in march to people i was wishing happy birthdays to over 10 years ago. there are only a handful, since moving around filtered out the chaff where long-distance communication is concerned (ha! at least in the younger years), but i love the wheat in my friendships. they’re golden and beautiful as ever.

my boys seem to be more upset than me that they’ve been asking me lately to work 3rd shift. night shift is a doozy because it’s largely just finding ways to keep yourself awake. sounds easier than it is. with no internet access, asking a person who isn’t used to staying up past 3 am anymore to manage a 10 hour shift from 10 pm to 8 am is…wow. but, it’s good hours, and not a permanent state for me. i let my boss know nicely that i don’t mind it for a while, but i prefer working with people, not while people are asleep.

it’s interesting after not being somewhere for a while who you still feel the most connected to. it’s a blessing to me knowing that the greatest connections are not made from the most frequent access or interaction, but by deep-rooted trenches walked through by my brain cells where they find common…something. because i’d be out a lot of amazing people in my life if it was required that i make rounds at time-specific intervals. not only am i bad at it, but it would probably give me an anxiety attack that would drive me into solitude even just at the thought of such a daunting task.

Posted in: Uncategorized