My Pleasure To Connect You (To Their Voicemail…)

Posted on May 26, 2006

0


Tomorrow I’m going to count how many phone calls I take, which will tell you how many times I say, “My pleasure to connect you” to some random person on the other side of the line. I tell you what, it makes a receptionist’s day (at least this one’s) when someone laughs and smiles on the other end of the line, or even when they have the wrong number and are funny about it.

One call for Supercom went like this:

Me: Thank you for calling Supercom
Him: Super-WHAT?!?

One guy this office and then said he’d call the Maryland office because they have a Charlene, too. I answer the next phone call and I hear:

“There are two Charlene’s….wait, was that you I just talked to?”

One man was trying to call Yahoo for computer troubles and called me twice under the title of two different companies I answer the phone for. He finally found the right number and then said he was sad because he wouldn’t get to talk to me anymore. He was from Florida. Boca Raton (sp?)

They replaced the musical abstract painting I look at for 7.5 hours a day with a painting that looks like Eeyore cried colors and there was too much water in the paint. Blah.

The plants are real. I think this is the first time I’ve been in an office building where the plants are real.

Tonight I go to Goodwill to empty my car, to the Scates to fill up my car, probably to the Reynold’s for the night and then back to work in the morning and who knows what tomorrow night. I need to start making daily lists for myself with all this time between phone calls.

Posted in: Uncategorized